This is the "Home" page of the "Guide to the Newman Indian Artifacts Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to the Newman Indian Artifacts Collection  

Guide to the Newman Indian Artifacts Collection
Last Updated: Jan 17, 2014 URL: http://libguides.uwec.edu/NewmanCollection Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About this Guide

Led by Dr. Erin Krutko Devlin, the 2013 spring semester Public History seminar class created an exhibit for the new Davies Student Center located on the second floor in the Council Oak room.  This libguide supplements the exhibit content by consisting of the student's work, including the research behind objects within the Newman Collection.   This research was then collated and built as a guide to serve as an opportunity for all of the University of Wisconsin--Eau Claire students to gain an understanding of some of what the Newman Collection has to offer.

The outer edge boxes frame the objects and give recommendations for additional research.  This guide highlights some of the pieces of the collection along with books that may be useful in expanding on the research that has already been gathered.  All research, including this libguide, was compiled by students.

 

Adin T. Newman Collection of Historical Indian Artifacts and Memorabilia

Welcome to the collection!

 

This libguide is a basic overview of objects available for research within the Newman Indian Artifacts Collection.  There are over 200 objects in the collection, many not fully researched.  Currently housed within the UW-Eau Claire Special Collections and Archives, the Newman Collection is available for student and community researchers alike.  A.T. Newman had a desire to use these objects to teach  the community, as well as preserving them for future generations.  We can learn a great deal about how the Native American Nations lived in a time prior to our own.

Additional digital projects were created by our classmates.  Please click on the following link to our website, which highlights individual areas of interest pursued by the students.  Website!

Thank You!

 

Access the Collection

To access the collection, stop into the Special Collections & Archives located on the 5th floor of McIntyre Library.  A finding aid is available with all of the objects to start your researching desires.  The Newman Family Scrapbook is also available for use.  Just visit during regular business hours!

If you have any questions, or would like to learn more about the Newman Indian Artifacts Collection, please contact the University Archivist, Greg Kocken [kockeng@uwec.edu].

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Greg Kocken
Contact Info
Special Collections Librarian & University Archivist
Special Collections & Archives
McIntyre Library, Room 5022
Phone: 715-836-3873
Email: kockeng@uwec.edu
Send Email
 
Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip