This is the "Archives and Manuscripts in Bibliographies" page of the "Citing Archives, Manuscripts, Oral Histories, City Directories, and Maps" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citing Archives, Manuscripts, Oral Histories, City Directories, and Maps  

Your guide to citing stuff that isn't well covered by Turabian's style manual.
Last Updated: Sep 3, 2013 URL: http://libguides.uwec.edu/citingarchives Print Guide RSS Updates

Archives and Manuscripts in Bibliographies Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Did You Know...?

 

According to the Chicago Manual of Style, 15th Edition there is no agreement on the order of elements in archival and manuscript collection citations (17.222). So, while there is considerable freedom in archival citation forms, the author must order the citation elements consistently.

 

What Does Mss or MSS mean?

Both are abbreviations for "Manuscript."

 

The Elements of Archives / Manuscripts Citation in Bibliographies

  • Author or creator of the collection
  • Type of records in the collection
  • Date span of collection
  • Manuscript or series number
  • Name of holding repository
  • Location of holding repository

Note that the first two bullets may be combined in the title of the collection.  If that is the case, simply use the collection's title.

 

Examples:

James Newman Clark Collection, 1867-1972. UHC249. Special Collections & Archives. McIntyre Library. University of Wisconsin--Eau Claire. Eau Claire, WI.

University of Wisconsin--Eau Claire. Grambling State University Exchange Program Records, 1970-1980. AS182. Special Collections & Archives. McIntyre Library. University of Wisconsin--Eau Claire. Eau Claire, WI.

 

Example: Wisconsin Historical Society Collction Housed at UW - Eau Claire

Uniroyal, Inc. Eau Claire Plant Records, 1917-1990. Eau Claire Mss CB. Wisconsin Historical Society. Records housed in Special Collections & Archives, McIntyre Library, University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire. Eau Claire, WI.

 

Example: Wisconsin Historical Society Collection Housed at Another ARC

James Sibree Anderson Papers, 1829-1926.  Green Bay Mss 133.  Wisconsin Historical Society.  Housed in the University Archives and Special Collections, Coffrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay.  Green Bay, WI.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Greg Kocken
Contact Info
Special Collections Librarian & University Archivist
Special Collections & Archives
McIntyre Library, Room 5022
Phone: 715-836-3873
Email: kockeng@uwec.edu
Send Email
 
Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip