This is the "Empirical studies" page of the "Empirical studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Empirical studies   Tags: empirical, quantitative, research, study  

Strategies for finding empirical studies and research articles
Last Updated: Sep 5, 2013 URL: http://libguides.uwec.edu/empirical Print Guide RSS Updates

Empirical studies Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is an empirical study?

  • Empirical studies are those based on actual and objective observation or experimentation.
  • Articles that describe empirical research studies are published in scholarly or academic journals.
  • Many scholarly or academic journals are peer-reviewed or refereed, meaning that a panel of experts in the field selects and reviews the articles published in the journal. These articles are often, but not always, empirical studies.
  • Empirical studies articles comprise the following parts (wording may vary):
    • abstract
    • introduction (and review of the literature)
    • method
    • results
    • discussion (and/or Conclusion)
    • references
 

Sample Journals

The following journals are examples that contain empirical studies and use APA format for documenting sources:

 

Periodicals List Search

To find out if the library has a specific journal (in print or online), search for the journal name:
 

Finding Empirical Study Articles

 

Finding empirical research articles

Most databases will let you limit your search to articles that are:

  • scholarly
  • academic
  • peer-reviewed
  • refereed

Most, but not all, of these will be empirical studies.

To further focus your search, try adding one of the following terms to your search (try different combinations):

  • study
  • methodology (or method)
  • empirical
  • research
  • findings
  • results
  • participants

For example, to find empirical studies on newspaper reading, I might try this:

Where to look

  • Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
    A comprehensive, multi-disciplinary database providing access to peer-reviewed journals, as well as to some newspapers and magazines, and other publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
  • Communication and Journalism
    Search for articles in databases best suited to communication and journalism topics
  • Databases by Topic
    This webpage allows you to search for a database by its title or to click on a letter to find it by title.
  • Social Sciences
    Search for articles in databases covering the broad spectrum of social sciences
  • JSTOR
    A multidisiplinary and fulltext archive of scholarly journals that spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO)
    SocINDEX with Full Text contains citations and full text coverage of journal articles, books, conference papers, etc. in sociology and related topics.
Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip